Host of Premier League players to have missed out on winners’ medals

Gomez played the long ball to Salah, who would have to win the ball from Cathcart or Kabasele. the four-man defence stood strong against this Liverpool attack. Credit: Wyscout.

Winning the Premier League is an accomplishment only few footballers have ever had the honour of being able to achieve, however there are some who have won it but have not been able to receive a medal to represent their efforts.

According to current Premier League rules, only 23 players are guaranteed to receive a Premier League winners’ medal, although there are criteria in place that allow for additional medals to be won, such as playing in five or more top-flight games across the title-winning campaign.

The Sun have provided a report of their own that shows some rather high-profile names have missed out on one occasion, although many have them have been able to get their hands on another one at some point.

Gary Neville

The former – and some might say legendary – Manchester United right-back and skipper, Gary Neville, might have been able to win eight medals throughout his career, however it could have been 10.

He made just one appearance in his debut season, whilst his final season at Old Trafford also meant he missed out as he played just four times.

Micah Richards

Having joined Neville at Sky Sports sometime later, Micah Richards also missed out on a winners’ medal. He picked up a medal in 2011/12 under Roberto Mancini, but an injury-hit campaign saw him miss out in 2013/14 under Manuel Pellegrini as he made just two league appearances.

Mohamed Salah

Mohamed Salah may have finally got his hands – and Liverpool’s – on the Premier League title last season, but the Egyptian star could have had his chance in 2014/15 when he was with Chelsea. However, Jose Mourinho sent him out on loan to Fiorentina in the winter, thus making him miss out.

Those that may have placed a bet on football earlier this season would have felt the world-class forward would have been getting his hands on another trophy, but that seems incredibly unlikely at the moment.

Nemanja Matic

Chelsea’s 2009/10 triumph under Carlo Ancelotti came too quickly for Nemanja Matic, as he only managed to play twice. However, he has since gone on to obtain three throughout his career.

Owen Hargreaves

Owen Hargreaves missed out on two winners medals throughout his career as injuries hit him hard in 2008/09 and 2010/11. Fortunately for him, he managed to get a medal with Manchester United back in 2007/08.

David Batty

A former England international, David Batty helped Blackburn Rovers to the Premier League title in 1995 but only made five appearances. Although that would be enough today, it was not back then, as 10 appearances were required to trigger a medal. He was later offered a medal but is understood to have turned it down.

Federico Macheda

The Italian forward may have parachuted himself into Manchester United folklore with his debut goal against Aston Villa in 2008/09 that helped the Red Devils to their 3rd consecutive Premier League title, but he only made four appearances, thus not being able to obtain a piece of silverware.