Premier League title winners throughout history

English Premier League 2019/2020: Southampton vs Arsenal - Tactical Analysis

As we enter September, the new Premier League season is less than two weeks away from getting underway.

Whilst we may have only had a short break between the two campaigns because of the unprecedented break that happened in the Spring, many will be eager to watch the new season unfold.

Naturally, there have been a number of new faces to the league, with some high-profile transfers having taken place, whilst some old faces have re-joined the league in regards to Leeds United, West Bromwich Albion and Fulham. Therefore, it is not a surprise many have raced to the likes of 10bet to place bets on what they think will happen over the course of the 2020/21 Premier League season.

The interest the Premier League has managed to generate across the world is astronomical, with England’s top flight believed to have generated over $5.1 billion U.S. dollars in 2019 in just TV revenue.

Indeed, star players joining some of the world’s best football clubs have clearly helped to make that happen, whilst there has also been a surge in interest after Leicester City’s unlikely heroics in the 2015/16 season when they won the title for the very first time. More impressively, the Foxes looked as though they would be playing in the Championship that season as they had flirted with relegation a little too much the year before.

Who has won the title and how often?

With that said, who has won the Premier League title (or the old First Division title, prior to sponsorship and naming rights) and how many times have they won it?

Manchester United – 20 times

Liverpool – 19 times

Arsenal – 13 times

Everton – 9 times

Aston Villa – 7 times

Chelsea, Manchester City and Sunderland – 6 times

Newcastle United and Sheffield Wednesday – 4 times

Blackburn Rovers, Huddersfield Town, Leeds United and Wolverhampton Wanderers – 3 times

Burnley, Derby County, Portsmouth, Preston North End and Tottenham Hotspur – 2 times

Ipswich Town, Nottingham Forest, Sheffield United, West Bromwich Albion and Leicester City – 1 time.

Manchester United and Liverpool have dominated for years

Hardly surprising for fans of across a certain number of eras, Manchester United and Liverpool have both dominated the League as they have managed to win a combined 39 titles.

Jurgen Klopp’s side obtained their first title in under the ‘Premier League’ branding and have closed the gap on their rivals.

Only 7 clubs to have won the title since 1992/93

The Premier League became what it is known around the world in 1992/93 and in the near-three decades it has been named as such, only seven teams have been able to lift the title.

Manchester United, Blackburn Rovers, Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester City, Leicester City and Liverpool whereas the likes of Newcastle United, Tottenham Hotspur and Nottingham Forest have only managed to get within touching distance of the trophy.